We’re feeling a bit nostalgic today, but not in an old school hip hop kind of way, more of a classic Photek/LTJ Bukem mixtape vibe. So we went ahead and pre-ordered Photek’s new DJ Kicks mix, that definitely brings you on that sort of a journey. Also DJ-Kicks The Exclusives featuring one of Photek’s tracks is out for about a week now, and you should get your copy here. Preview of the closing track below. Deep. Heavy. In a true Photek way.

“I wanted to create one of those classic listening experiences. With a mix like this, you can either bang it with the most current dancefloor tunes, or you can put a theme into it, or you can make it a journey. I was thinking about the classic LTJ Bukem mix tapes that I first came across in ’92 and ’93 and how epic they were. There was such a range of styles on there, they were so timeless and had real character. They had some personality. That’s what I wanted to capture with my DJ Kicks mix. It’s music with some atmosphere, it’s introspective. I imagined that this would be the mixtape that you listen to later on – after the club. It’s more intimate. I’m not trying to show what I would do in a club, it’s something completely different.”

1. Photek – Azymuth
2. Kromestar – In 2 Minds
3. Hot Toddy feat. Ron Basejam – I Need Love (Morgan Geist’s Love Dub)
4. DLX – Modern Man
5. DJG – Here Comes The Dark Lights
6. Dustmite & Kuru – Bare
7. Photek & Pinch – M25FM
8. Photek – No Agenda
9. Baby Ford & Eon – Dead Eye
10. Marco Effe – Sexgas (Arnaud Le Texier Remix)
11. DJG – Say Something
12. Guy J & Miriam Vaga – No Under But You
13. Daze Maxim – Tomorrow Universe
14. Sepalcure – Taking You Back
15. Photek – Levitation
16. Photek & Kuru – Fountainhead (Dj-Kicks)
17. Synkro – Look At Yourself
18. Photek – 101 (Boddika’s Drum Machine Remix)
19. Parxe & Grincheux – The Art Of Nothing pt.1

Leave your comment


(Spamcheck Enabled)